Welcome to the Barack Obama Leadership Academy!

On behalf of our entire staff, we would like to welcome our new and returning students! It is with great honor and much enthusiasm that we have been designated a 21st Century After School Program.

As we begin our academic year, I am pleased to announce our name change from Timbuktu Academy to the Barack Obama Leadership Academy, in honor of the 44th president of the United States. As one of the first “Leader in Me” schools in the city of Detroit, we are excited to enhance our curriculum to help our students excel in their development and grow exponentially as they discover their leadership ability and build their self-confidence.

Additionally, I would like to offer my sincere thanks and appreciation to our custodial staff. They worked diligently throughout the summer to prepare and ready our school. Our instructional team and support staff also have been working to prepare this year’s academic lessons and extracurricular activities. They are eager to engage our students both inside and outside the classroom.

Finally, I would like to extend my heartfelt appreciation to our parents, volunteers and community members for their continued support and participation. I also would like to personally invite our new parents and others interested in supporting our students and school to get involved.

Educationally yours,

Kimberly Prichett
Principal

Learn More

Academics

Leader in Me, African Centered Education, Common Core State Standards, and curricular resources

Learn More
Join Us

Admissions

Great Futures Begin Here

Enroll Today!
Help Us

Donate

Investing in our community through our students

Donate Today!

Our History

The foundation of our public charter school, now known as the Barack Obama Leadership Academy (Obama Academy), began with the enactment of Michigan’s charter school law in 1995. Recognizing the need for individualized instruction, diversity in materials, a holistic learning model and fewer students per class, the Timbuktu Academy of Science and Technology was established by E. Malkia Brantuo and former Wayne County Commission Bernard Parker.

Under the management of Magnum Educational Management Company and its CEO Bernard Parker, the school is committed to providing holistic academic experiences and resources for its eastside Detroit community.

Since its inception, Timbuktu Academy of Science and Technology (Timbuktu Academy) has been dedicated to building a model African-centered and leadership-focused institution founded on integrity and the purposeful nurturing and development of critical thinkers to improve the quality of life for its students and communities at home and around the world.

During the school’s inaugural year in 1997-1998, Timbuktu Academy welcomed 67 kindergarten through third-grade students. With each subsequent academic year, the school expanded one grade level until eighth-grade students were enrolled. In 2006, the school moved to its current location on East Canfield Street in Detroit, Michigan.

Beginning with the 2019-2020 academic year, Timbuktu Academy changed its name to the Barack Obama Leadership Academy in honor of President Barack Obama for his leadership characteristics that inspire people across our nation and around the globe and to reflect the integration of the nationally recognized Leader in Me program.

Following a rigorous and extremely competitive review process, the school was selected as a 21st Century After School program location to provide academic enrichment opportunities during non-school hours for children, particularly students residing in disadvantaged communities.

Our Mission

At the Barack Obama Leadership Academy, is dedicated to providing the highest quality educational experience and to developing and building upon the leadership characteristics that are inherent in all children.

Board Of Directors

Board President- Dr. Oluwa Davis

Board Vice Chair Cherly Munday

Board Secretary- Tamiko Leonard

Board Member- Dr. Winifred Green 

Board Member- 

Treasurer- Kamau Kheperu

Board meetings are typically 5:30-7:30pm the first Wednesday of each month

img

“At Magnum Educational Services, we are committed to providing the best academic experience for our students and serving as a resource for the communities we serve. Our passionate educators and staff deliver a unique, quality and student-centered learning experience to help students succeed.” -Bernard Parker

Teachers and Support Staff

Terrel England         Dean of Culture/Climate             tengland@obamaacademy.org                                                                                                                                          

Barack Obama Leadership Academy teachers are dedicated to providing an exceptional education experience and helping our students realize their full potential. Our instructional team brings a wide array of teaching experience and methodologies into their classrooms to create a dynamic learning environment that promotes student achievement.

                                         Zoom Etiquette                                   Student Handbook

Name

Teaching Position

Room

Ext.

Email Address

ELEMENTARY SCHOOL

    

Jennifer Hunter/Brittany C.

Kindergarten Teacher

120

103

jhunter@obamaacademy.org

Wendy Sanders

Kindergarten Teacher

122

125

wsanders@obamaacademy.org

LaQuera Ramsey

1st Grade

119

137

Lramsey@obamaacademy.org

Jerri Scott

1st Grade

123

102

jscott@obamaacademy.org

Alrita Williams – Master

2nd Grade

102

104

fmanzira@obamaacademy.org

Kimberly Snay-   Master

2nd Grade

101

105

ksnay@obamaacademy.org

Shirley Brewer – Master

3rd Grade

103

107

sbrewer@obamaacademy.org

Maje Hogan

3rd Grade

105

106

mhogan@obamaacademy.org

Carnell Lockhart

4th Grade

106

132

clockhart@obamaacademy.org

Karen Brown

4TH Grade

107

NA

kbrown@obamaacademy.org

Sharon Dye

5th Grade

108

134

sdye@obamaacademy.org

Patricia Bumbrey

5th Grade

109

135

pbumbrey@obamaacademy.org

GPS – John Addo

Special Education K-8

118

130

jaddo@obamaacademy.org

MIDDLE SCHOOL

    

William Bridgewater

Middle Math

201

114

wbridgewater@obamaacademy.org

Monique Taylor

Middle Science

200

 

Mtaylor@obamaacademy.org

Henry Stafford

Middle Social Studies

202

110

hstafford@obamaacademy.org

Rina Flow

Middle ELA

204

124

Rflow@obamaacademy.org

Name

Para/Tutor Position

Room

Ext.

 

Star Gunn

Kindergarten

120

103

sgunn@obamaacademy.org

A’Vree Garbulinskiz

Kindergarten for

122

125

agarbulinski@obamaacademy.org

Shamiah Jackson

Kindergarten 1 to 1 Para

120

103

sjackson@obamaacademy.org

Melody Elder

1st Grade

119

137

lramsey@obamaacademy.org

Melody Elder

1st Grade

123

102

melder@obamaacademy.org

James Ascott

1 st Grade 1 to 1 Para

119

137

jascott@obamaacademy.org

Brittani Coleman/E. Spruill

2nd Grade

101

105

bcoleman@obamaacademy.org

Barbara Williams

2nd Grade

102

104

bwilliams@obamaacademy.org

Eloise Spruill

3rd  Grade

105

106

espruill@obamaacademy.org

Eloise Spruill

3rd Grade

103

107

espruill@obamaacademy.org

OPEN

4th Grade

106

132

 

John Paul Lewis

4th Grade

107

126

Jlewis@obamaacademy.org

Mama Zukhanye

5th Grade

108

134

vnondabula@obamaacademy.org

Mama Zukhanye

5th Grade

109

135

vnondabula@obamaacademy.org

Valerie Jolly

Special Education K-8

118

130

vjolly@obamaacademy.org

MIDDLE SCHOOL

Para/Tutor Position

Room

Ext.

 

Renee Jenkins

Middle ELA/SS

202/204

124

rjenkins@obamaacademy.org

Tawon Kidd

Middle Science/Math

200/201

 

tkidd@obamaacademy.org

   

Name

Specials Team

Room

Ext.

Email Address

Saundria Brumfield

STEM

110

128

sbrumfield@obamaacademy.org

Barbara Williams

SEL Teacher

112

139

bwilliamsi@obamaacademy.org

Donovan Owens

Physical Educ.

P.E. Office

 

dowens@obamaacademy.org

Stevon Mosley

Art Teacher

104

162

smosley@obamaacademy.org

   
    
    
   t

                         

   
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Stay Informed