Welcome to the Barack Obama Leadership Academy!

On behalf of our entire staff, we would like to welcome our new and returning students! It is with great honor and much enthusiasm that we have been designated a 21st Century After School Program.

As we begin our academic year, I am pleased to announce our name change from Timbuktu Academy to the Barack Obama Leadership Academy, in honor of the 44th president of the United States. As one of the first “Leader in Me” schools in the city of Detroit, we are excited to enhance our curriculum to help our students excel in their development and grow exponentially as they discover their leadership ability and build their self-confidence.

Additionally, I would like to offer my sincere thanks and appreciation to our custodial staff. They worked diligently throughout the summer to prepare and ready our school. Our instructional team and support staff also have been working to prepare this year’s academic lessons and extracurricular activities. They are eager to engage our students both inside and outside the classroom.

Finally, I would like to extend my heartfelt appreciation to our parents, volunteers and community members for their continued support and participation. I also would like to personally invite our new parents and others interested in supporting our students and school to get involved.

Educationally yours,

Kimberly Prichett
Principal


Learn More

Academics

Leader in Me, African Centered Education, Common Core State Standards, and curricular resources

 

Learn More
Join Us

Admissions

Great Futures Begin Here

Enroll Today!
Help Us

Donate

Investing in our community through our students

Donate Today!

Our History

The foundation of our public charter school, now known as the Barack Obama Leadership Academy (Obama Academy), began with the enactment of Michigan’s charter school law in 1995. Recognizing the need for individualized instruction, diversity in materials, a holistic learning model and fewer students per class, the Timbuktu Academy of Science and Technology was established by E. Malkia Brantuo and former Wayne County Commission Bernard Parker.

Under the management of Magnum Educational Management Company and its CEO Bernard Parker, the school is committed to providing holistic academic experiences and resources for its eastside Detroit community.

Since its inception, Timbuktu Academy of Science and Technology (Timbuktu Academy) has been dedicated to building a model African-centered and leadership-focused institution founded on integrity and the purposeful nurturing and development of critical thinkers to improve the quality of life for its students and communities at home and around the world.

During the school’s inaugural year in 1997-1998, Timbuktu Academy welcomed 67 kindergarten through third-grade students. With each subsequent academic year, the school expanded one grade level until eighth-grade students were enrolled. In 2006, the school moved to its current location on East Canfield Street in Detroit, Michigan.

Beginning with the 2019-2020 academic year, Timbuktu Academy changed its name to the Barack Obama Leadership Academy in honor of President Barack Obama for his leadership characteristics that inspire people across our nation and around the globe and to reflect the integration of the nationally recognized Leader in Me program.

Following a rigorous and extremely competitive review process, the school was selected as a 21st Century After School program location to provide academic enrichment opportunities during non-school hours for children, particularly students residing in disadvantaged communities.

Our Mission

At the Barack Obama Leadership Academy, is dedicated to providing the highest quality educational experience and to developing and building upon the leadership characteristics that are inherent in all children.

Board Of Directors

Board President- Dr. Oluwa Davis

Board Vice Chair Cherly Munday

Board Secretary- Tamiko Leonard

Board Member- Dr. Winifred Green 

Board Member- 

Treasurer- Kamau Kheperu

Board meetings are typically 5:30-7:30pm the first Wednesday of each month

 

img

“At Magnum Educational Services, we are committed to providing the best academic experience for our students and serving as a resource for the communities we serve. Our passionate educators and staff deliver a unique, quality and student-centered learning experience to help students succeed.”
-Bernard Parker

 

Teachers and Support Staff

Terrel England         Dean of Culture/Climate             tengland@obamaacademy.org                                                                                                                                          

Barack Obama Leadership Academy teachers are dedicated to providing an exceptional education experience and helping our students realize their full potential. Our instructional team brings a wide array of teaching experience and methodologies into their classrooms to create a dynamic learning environment that promotes student achievement.

                                         Zoom Etiquette                                   Student Handbook

Name Teaching Position Room Ext. Email Address
ELEMENTARY SCHOOL        
Jennifer Hunter/Brittany C. Kindergarten Teacher 120 103 jhunter@obamaacademy.org
Wendy Sanders Kindergarten Teacher 122 125 wsanders@obamaacademy.org
LaQuera Ramsey 1st Grade 119 137 Lramsey@obamaacademy.org
Jerri Scott 1st Grade 123 102 jscott@obamaacademy.org
Alrita Williams – Master 2nd Grade 102 104 fmanzira@obamaacademy.org
Kimberly Snay-   Master 2nd Grade 101 105 ksnay@obamaacademy.org
Shirley Brewer – Master 3rd Grade 103 107 sbrewer@obamaacademy.org
Maje Hogan 3rd Grade 105 106 mhogan@obamaacademy.org
Carnell Lockhart 4th Grade 106 132 clockhart@obamaacademy.org
Karen Brown 4TH Grade 107 NA kbrown@obamaacademy.org
Sharon Dye 5th Grade 108 134 sdye@obamaacademy.org
Patricia Bumbrey 5th Grade 109 135 pbumbrey@obamaacademy.org
GPS – John Addo Special Education K-8 118 130 jaddo@obamaacademy.org
MIDDLE SCHOOL        
William Bridgewater Middle Math 201 114 wbridgewater@obamaacademy.org
Monique Taylor Middle Science 200   Mtaylor@obamaacademy.org
Henry Stafford Middle Social Studies 202 110 hstafford@obamaacademy.org
Rina Flow Middle ELA 204 124 Rflow@obamaacademy.org
Name Para/Tutor Position Room Ext.  
Star Gunn Kindergarten 120 103 sgunn@obamaacademy.org
A’Vree Garbulinskiz Kindergarten for 122 125 agarbulinski@obamaacademy.org
Shamiah Jackson Kindergarten 1 to 1 Para 120 103 sjackson@obamaacademy.org
Melody Elder 1st Grade 119 137 lramsey@obamaacademy.org
Melody Elder 1st Grade 123 102 melder@obamaacademy.org
James Ascott 1 st Grade 1 to 1 Para 119 137 jascott@obamaacademy.org
Brittani Coleman/E. Spruill 2nd Grade 101 105 bcoleman@obamaacademy.org
Barbara Williams 2nd Grade 102 104 bwilliams@obamaacademy.org
Eloise Spruill 3rd  Grade 105 106 espruill@obamaacademy.org
Eloise Spruill 3rd Grade 103 107 espruill@obamaacademy.org
OPEN 4th Grade 106 132  
John Paul Lewis 4th Grade 107 126 Jlewis@obamaacademy.org
Mama Zukhanye 5th Grade 108 134 vnondabula@obamaacademy.org
Mama Zukhanye 5th Grade 109 135 vnondabula@obamaacademy.org
Valerie Jolly Special Education K-8 118 130 vjolly@obamaacademy.org
MIDDLE SCHOOL Para/Tutor Position Room Ext.  
Renee Jenkins Middle ELA/SS 202/204 124 rjenkins@obamaacademy.org
Tawon Kidd Middle Science/Math 200/201   tkidd@obamaacademy.org
     
Name Specials Team Room Ext. Email Address
Saundria Brumfield STEM 110 128 sbrumfield@obamaacademy.org
Barbara Williams SEL Teacher 112 139 bwilliamsi@obamaacademy.org
Donovan Owens Physical Educ. P.E. Office   dowens@obamaacademy.org
Stevon Mosley Art Teacher 104 162 smosley@obamaacademy.org
     
       
       
     t
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       

 

Barack Obama Leadership Academy Calendar 2021-22

Monthly Newsletters

– September 2021

 

– October 2021

 

November 2021

 

-December 2021

 

-January 2022

 

-Febuary 2022

 

-March 2022

 

-April 2022

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

Additional Reports

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Stay Informed